top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTexasGoPro

GoPro Mount Options

There are many different ways to mount a GoPro and this section will discuss the pros and cons of various mounts while riding thrill rides. We will also look into what options that parks might allow over others for safety concerns.


The most common is the chesty harness. I honestly don't see any parks having a problem with this mount as there is no possible way for it to come off. Another great feature about the chesty mount is that you can attach a gimbal to record a smoother ride. The downside to the chesty is if you are riding a ride with the over the shoulder restraints, your view may be obstructed, which was the case when I rode a Fabbri Banzai (floorless Kamikaze). Another downside to the chesty mount is your hands will get in the shot, which I discovered while riding a KMG speed. Finally, if you are a short person and are riding a B&M hyper coaster, you may not have the height to see over the lap restraint. If you can keep your hands out of the way, then this a great mount to use.


Another great mount is the hand strap, which is my personal favorite. The hand strap fits directly over your hand and wraps around your thumb. This is great for recording and viewing the scenery while on the lift hill. You can also spin the camera around for some great selfie shots and recording the back of the coaster. The best part is that it is much easier to keep your hands out of the shot. I don't see really any downside to this mount other than that parks may deem it as unsafe. If you try to mount a gimbal it may be heavy and bulky to use. I plan to test this when I am able to get one. As long as a ride operator checks the security of the strap around your hand, everything should be fine. One final thought to this mount is that you have to be aware of the plastic where the bolt screws into, over time this can become cracked and will be need to replaced.


I've also seen a lot of people use a head mount and sometimes even a baseball hat clip. There are lots of problems with the head mount as there is no strap that goes underneath your chin. If GoPro would make a head strap that we could use on roller coasters I'd buy one. Head straps basically just go around your head and are not really made for high thrill rides that go upside down. I've seen people do it, but there is always a risk that the mount would fly off and therefore need to be redesigned. I went to MGM Studios last year and saw a gentleman riding Rockin' Roller Coaster using a head mount. None of the Disney ride staff asked him to put it away. This clearly shows that not only riders need to be educated but also the ride staff as well. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I spoke with a safety manager from North American Midways and he mentioned that a helmet mount would be much safer to use than just the head lamp mount. If GoPro can design a light weight strap that is similar to a helmet mount, but without the helmet I can see them being allowed more in the future. As of now, there is an off brand head mount with a chin strap, which is definitely more secure, but still prompts the possibility of it flying off while on the ride. I'd also be anxious to try a gimbal on a head mount as well, but not sure how secure it would be with just a strap mount unlike a helmet.


Another great option might be the leg or shoe mount. GoPro used to make a strap that was longer that still worked with their hand mount that you tightened around your leg. This is great if you want to get a low selfie shot or a different POV for floor-less, winged, inverted, other coasters and thrill ride types that do not have a floor. The only problem I found with the leg strap was that I felt like it wasn't secure. There needs to be a way to make it really tight for thin legged people like myself. I had to wrap the excess strap around and still felt like it wasn't tight enough. The leg strap is also great if you decide to wear boots while riding. Shoe mounts would be really secure if GoPro would make a mount that could be laced. There are a few shoelace mounts, but are off brand. I've never really used one so don't know how secure they are. One idea would be to wear a Pershing style combat boot that would lace up over the GoPro mount. Not sure how well a gimbal would work with this mount, but is definitely something I want to try. As of now, there is a way to make a shoe mount, which I'll be trying out next time I go to the park. Overall, I think ride operators shouldn't have any problems with allowing this type of mount in the future.


Below is a link:


Finally, there is also a shoulder mount, which I saw someone use while at SeaWorld. The only problem I find with this mount is that there is no strap to hold it across your body. There are many off brands of this type and some may have a strap that goes across your chest. Again, if GoPro made a shoulder harness that would also be secured across the body I'd get one just to have for another filming option. This would be another great mount to use with a gimbal.


DON'Ts

1) Do not attach a GoPro to any ride without prior permission. I've seen a handle bar mount for bikes, and it's just simply not worth it to try.


2) NEVER use a baseball cap mount. I saw my friend do this while we rode Banshee at Kings Island in Mason, OH. He snuck the camera on in his pocket and pulled it out when we were clear and attached it to his hat. Thankfully nothing happened, but it was still a dumb thing to do just simply not worth it.


3) Selfie sticks shouldn't be allowed on any ride period, but you would be surprised people still try to do it.


4) Stay away from any hand mount such as GoKnuckles or anything that you actually have to grip. There always is the risk you may drop something.


DOs

1) Always abide by park policies in regards to GoPros. If you are unsure, always ask for permission.










37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page